Kyokushin grading system

Kyokushin Karate training programme consists of 10 levels up to Shodan (1st dan) grading and 9 levels over Shodan. As with ninjutsu, the grading levels up to Shodan are called kyu, whereas over Shodan are called dan. A student starts off without kyu and during the training the student progresses gradually from Jukyu (10th) to Ichikyu (1st kyu) and then to Shodan following a certification from the instructors.

Typical training duration in Kyokushin towards Shodan is approximaterly 5 years. We pay great importance to the training quality and the combativeness of students. Nevertheless the training duration is highly dependent on factours such as past experience to other martial arts, presence in the Dojo and most certainly it is up to the student's evolution on spiritual, physical and technical level.

Training levels are certified in Kyokushin after an examination procedure. Therefore, instructors are responsible for the certification of one student's kyu or dan after examinations have taken place. The exams take place in Dojo at scheduled dates and times, usually three times annualy (December, March and June) for any student is prepared for a grading promotion.

Kyokushin practitioners, both students and instructors, wear a traditional white training uniform called gi. Together with a gi goes a belt that is called obi. Onto gi a Kyokushin badge is placed along with the organisation badge.

The belt (obi) varies depending on the level as follows.

  • 10 KyuRed belt
  • 9 KyuRed/blue belt
  • 8 KyuBlue belt
  • 7 KyuBlue/yellow belt
  • 6 KyuYellow belt
  • 5 KyuYellow/green belt
  • 4 KyuGreen belt
  • 3 KyuGreen/brown belt
  • 2 KyuBrown belt
  • 1 KyuBrown/black belt
  • 1 DanBlack belt

At black belt, each dan grading features a yellow vertical stripe close to the edge of the belt. Also, the Kyokushin kanji and the owner's name in katakana are embroidered onto the black belt.

(return to top of the page)